There are K-Drama fans across the globe who share the same passion. But on online platforms, it is hard to know about each other’ stories and tastes. Even if we are in the same fandom, it is hard to get to know each other. So at Kpopmap, we started the Kpopmap Fan Interview Project to get to know more about K-Drama fans from different countries. Just like the Kpopmap Fan Interview for idols, the Kpopmap Fan Interview for actors aims to open the opportunity for fans to promote, talk about, and share their love for their favorite actor/actress with our readers.   Ritu is the next fan to answer our questions about her favorite actor. She is from India and is a fan of Lee JongSuk! Check out how she became his fan, the reasons why she is a fan, the dramas she recommends, and much more insights about Lee JongSuk.   Can you introduce yourself? Where are you from? Hello, Nice to meet you. I’m Ritu Hembrom. I’m a Master’s graduate. I am from Jharkhand, India. I have keen interest in painting, photography and travelling. And I love to watch Korean dramas.   Who is your favorite Korean actor/actress? And how and when did you become a fan? My favorite actor is Lee JongSuk. And the very first Korean drama that I watched is “I Can Hear Your Voice”. It all started way back in 2016 my first year of college away from home for the first time. Also, I’m introvert so it is difficult to open up and make friends. But then my friend introduced me to drama and I’m fortunate enough that I got to see and explore this drama land all because of you and making me stay. Also through seeing your drama I got my best friend. I still remember how I felt when I watched “I Can Hear Your Voice”. I was so unstable back then but when I watched the drama, I was all emotional, sobbing, and tense, and wondered how easily we promise each other when it is so hard to keep one, but then seeing you I understood. Overall, it was like I was having a journey with you in the drama and that never stopped since then and it will continue forever.   What are the reasons why you love your favorite actor? To Lee JongSuk: Now when I think of the reasons why I like you, I don’t find words to describe the feeling. It would be much better for me to say I gradually and slowly fell in love with you. I never used to feel indulge myself in anyone’s character or movie. It was just a means of entertainment. But when I first saw you, I don’t know but it felt like your eyes are saying something. And his smile brightens everything around him. My god, it’s just so adorable. I felt so connected and it was like through your character I’m having a journey along with you. That I had never felt before. I like how you always want to improve yourself for better and keeps on striving hard to satisfy yourself and your fans. And I will be honest with this you changed my perception about Korean drama.   Can you recommend dramas or movies starring your favorite actor for new fans? I specially recommend everyone to watch “W- Two Worlds”, “I Can Hear Your Voice”, “Pinocchio”, “While You Were Sleeping”, and “School 2013”. These are the drama which made me fall in love with him and I want others to see this too to know how good he is in his work.   Do you have an all-time favorite scene? Can you describe it or share a video? Gosh, there are a lot of scenes; it’s difficult for me to choose one. But whenever I think of Lee JongSuk, this scene is the first that pops in my mind. I like how he stayed calm here fixated his eyes only on his goal and didn’t get carried away with the pressure and running out of time. I also wanted to be like him.     What was your favorite answer given by your favorite actor in an interview? To Lee JongSuk: There are few answers of him which I liked: “I have never acted with my instinct. This resulted from the responsibility I feel about my work, and I always beat myself up when I see the result.” when you said that you want to try hard to satisfy your fans and yourself. I want to say I already love you so much and I can feel that from all your characters you played and how hard you worked upon them. To get the viewers so indulged that they start feeling the high, the lows, the good and the bad of the characters, which I call an outstanding work. I got all those emotional riding. And for that I have huge respect for you. When you said in a fan meeting “I won’t ask you guys to wait for me, If there are people who are better than me.” That hit me so hard and I cried along with you so much. And here I’m proudly announcing and want to tell you I have been waiting for you for these 2 years. It was hard but all sweet at the end.   What is your favorite actor’s influence on your daily life or yourself? JongSuk is humble, introverted and soft spoken person. He is a man with few words but with many expressions. You will know it that even if he speaks less but he meant every single word. Most of his character faces early adversity but they grew up to become strong. I have seen his interviews and videos where he wants to learn new hobby that makes me want to say a quote “The adventure of life is to learn”. That’s makes me love his sweet, adorable personality even more.   For Kpopmap readers who are not familiar with Korean dramas/movies yet, please tell us what makes Korean actors and Korean dramas/movies attractive to you. To all those who are not familiar with Korean drama, I want to say, once upon a time I was like you only not much into dramas, same pattern of story, cliché storyline not much depth, and all sort of things. But these were all changed when I first saw them. Korean drama offers a unique storyline, suspense, thriller, romance, horror, historical and what not. Thanks to writers, directors and producers and all cast. For example: Let’s take romance drama which you may think are cliché But no, my friend, there’s more to them. When I watch other drama something always feels off like how they fell in love what made them like each other. That’s when Korean drama comes and tells us the deeper meaning of love and friendship. For Horror, I must say they once again have such unique setup that will get you hooked to your seat that what will happen next, If you don’t believe me watch “Train to Busan” and “Kingdom”. And even after this you are not convinced there are our Korean Actors/Actresses who not only are handsome and beautiful but they have outstanding talent which can be seen through their work. Their body posture, their eyes, their expression are all top notch that will make your heart flutter and make you respect them.   What genre do you want your favorite actor to appear in? What’s the reason? I really want JongSuk to appear in action, dark comedy drama and maybe travel vlogs. That would be a treat to watch him.   What are the actors you would like your favorite actor to act with? What’s the reason? I love this question so much and I already have one in mind for a long time, Han HyoJoo. I want them to work together again. His work with HyoJoo was so good. Their chemistry is unmatchable. I absolutely love her so much. Also I have grown fond of actors such as Jeon YeoBin, Lee SungKyung, Kim JiWon, Song KangHo.   Do you feel there are any misunderstandings, things that are not well known, or any prejudices about your favorite actor? It’s during the Daesang award in 2016, some called him he didn’t deserve it, some called him too young to win it and for his short speech. I not only as a fan but as a person want to say being young doesn’t mean you don’t deserve it. That just proves you are outstanding at your work. It’s an honor and indicates he’s incredible in his work. He’s an introvert person, it’s very hard to express our self and I am saying this as I too am an introvert. So I understand that people mean good to you but you just don’t know how to express yourself but that doesn’t mean we are being rude. You deserve every bit of appreciation. We should stop judging them every damn time and respect their hard work.   You can also add a message/letter to your favorite actor or show it on a message scrapbook. Dear Lee JongSuk, It’s been a long time and all I could remember now is a boy named Park SooHa who tried so hard to keep his promise. Earlier I used to carelessly say I promise. But you taught me what it means to keep a promise. You must be wondering why I am writing about a character to you. But I want to say this is how I first fall in love with you. How gradually but slowly you captured my heart that cried so much when you said you will be going and got so thrilled on your news that you came back. It was as if someone dear to me is going somewhere far that it’s hard for me to reach you. And I kept on counting days for your return. I loved when you said that you want to do better and there’s more space to learn. That moment my respect for you went so high and filled me with motivation. I wondered you are already this good what more there can be? But then I realized what it meant life is long learning process and you need to try to better yourself. Your acting always portrays the depth in the every character. And along with you, I go on an emotional ride with the character’s development. I read you want to do better to satisfy us and yourself. Don’t be so hard on you. We already know and love you so much and have respect for you. Your slight smile is already very alluring to us. Believe in yourself and the rest will follow. I am already so eager to watch you again. I hope you get this message. And I have made this picture of you long ago. I hope this reaches you. And hope you are doing well. Take care. Fighting!!!! Lots of love from India, Yours, Ritu. Thank you for answering our questions, Ritu.   Note: Kpopmap Fan Interview includes some of the interviewed fan’s favorite pictures and videos, and that include old pictures. If you are interested in joining Kpopmap Fan Interview Project, please get in touch with us at [email protected] Everyone is welcome to participate.  

Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk & The Reasons Why She Loves Him by FANS|Feb 28, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indian AROHA Talks About Her Favorite Group ASTRO & Her Bias JinJin by FANS|Mar 21, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Indian STAY Talks About Her Favorite Group Stray Kids & Her Bias Bang Chan by FANS|Mar 18, 2022 Kpopmap Fan Interview: An Argentinian CHOICE Talks About Her Favorite Group A.C.E & Explains Why She Is A Fan by FANS|Mar 15, 2022

Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 81Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 73Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 39Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 2Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 17Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 35Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 88Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 62Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 12Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 3Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 46Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 2Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 18Kpopmap Fan Interview  An Indian Fan Talks About Her Favorite Actor Lee JongSuk  Starting Her Journey With  I Can Hear Your Voice  - 28